A song recommendation for a rainy day

BentoBox
2 min readMar 18, 2021

--

I’ve been wandering about during this period of time during my lunch break and this artist has been on my phone when I’m plugged in.

The featured track I like the most so far is “IDK You Yet”.

It’s not always easy to express loneliness that goes beyond simply having company or the traditional love pairing of you, someone else and all its trappings.

The song captures the unique flavor of loneliness where you’re not quite alone because of your thoughts. Where the less answers you have about self, the more the doubt of self grows and festers into the new image of you.

Very quickly the song itself takes form against black space. And it feels as though my head has been lightly opened, while my thoughts are stirred in the mind and poured through my lips like warm tea fresh from the pot.

It feels akin to honey to lubricate dry lips that have gotten used to being sealed, prying the things you promised yourself you wouldn’t give power to, by uttering their existence.

Yet I find myself buckling not because of the pressure but from sweet release. Also, I don’t think I’m built to mentally resist lyrics chosen so carefully like flowers from an expansive meadow.

“Can you find me soon because I’m in my head?”

“And I don’t want to be modern art. But I only have half a heart to give to you.”

“Are your eyes brown blue or green? Do you like it with sugar and cream, or do you take it straight or just like me?”

This wasn’t supposed to be a writing I posted and it was meant for you, but I don’t think I’ll get a chance to write this to you, along with the other thoughts I had about you.

--

--

BentoBox
0 Followers

Born forcefully and against his will, Joel enjoys sci-fi movies of the brainy AND the brainless variety. He reviews things to fill the gaping hole in his heart.